Love Won

Let me start by saying I’m not here for an argument. If you are, that’s okay! Please, gently silence your keyboard as you continue on to read what I have to say. If you find yourself wanting to contribute the conversation, I ask that you do so in a different context. Thank you for respecting my opinion as I do my best in respecting yours!

Yesterday was one that will be recorded in every history book across the United States. Gay marriage was legalized in all 50 states. Before I go on, I’d like to share with you my own personal views on the matter. If you’ve read some of my other posts, you would know that I have a personal relationship with the Creator of this universe. (That’s God) I live my life in accordance to the Bible. The Bible clearly states that homosexuality is not what God intended for His beloved. (That’s us) Instead, it is a result of sin. (Which we all possess) In my eyes and maybe in yours, some sins are viewed as worse than others however God sees all of them as the same. Murderous actions are just as “bad” as a white lie.  A sin is a sin. Thankfully, God offers forgiveness, grace, and hope. But that’s a whole other topic that I would gladly discuss with you if you are interested. Back to my rant. Because I’m no better or worse than someone who is homosexual, I have no right to judge them or any of their actions. (I’ll leave that up to God) I personally have friends who are homosexual. I still love them. Just like I still love my friends that lie. I’m accepting the person, but I’m rejecting the lies they tell. Love the sinner, hate the sin.

Obviously, the fact that the Supreme Court made a final decision today means that I have no more say in the matter. That’s okay, but I do have a say in how we discuss the issue. Throughout the day, the hashtag “Love Won” never ceased to grace my eyes as I scrolled through my timeline. I wish we would use a different phrase. Why? Love already won. Love won when Jesus took 39 lashes upon His back and a crown of thorns upon His head. Love won when we no longer had to carry the weight of our sins on our shoulders because it found its way into the holes made by the nails pierced through Jesus’ hands and feet. Love won when Christ died for every single one of us and defeated the grave three days later. Love won 2015 years ago.

This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

