Why I Hate the Clean Version

So recently the radio has disgusted me. First of all, it’s despicable that I don’t know every single song that comes on. Since when do I ever turn on the radio and not know the song? Oh yeah, since college. Second of all, I have a certain problem with a certain trend that has found its way into certain songs. It all starts with the “F” word.

So since we all know I’m not about to put the “F” word in my blog, for my own sanity, we shall simply use the letter F to represent the actual word, easy stuff right? So I think we all know what F means.. but I was kind of interested as to what Mr. Webster had to say about it. Let’s just say there are copious definitions provided by good ol’ Merriam, but the two that stuck out to me the most are “a sexual partner” and “copulate.” So it makes sense when Chris Brown says “’till we get it right we gon’ F some more” or when Tove Lo sings “if you love me right, we F all night.”

So, what? It’s their lyrics, they can sing whatever they want. My issue is revealed when the clean versions of these songs are released. The F word that once stood for exactly what it meant, a sexual partner, is replaced by the word “love.”

Woah, woah, woah. Back the F up. You’re telling me that we’re going to try to replace F with a word that means “affection and tenderness,” “warm attachment, enthusiasm, or devotion,” and “an unselfish loyal and benevolent concern for the good of another?” F and love are two very different things-just ask anyone who has ever had a one-night stand. 

Although these days it’s not, F should be the result of love, not a synonym. In fact, Mr. Webster also defines F as meaning “to mess with,””used interjectionally with an object to express anger, contempt, or disgust,” and “to deal with unfairly or harshly: cheat, screw.” Does that sound like love? 

Love is being patient with others when they are frustrated. Love is being kind by staying up all night just to lend a listening ear. Love is putting someone else’s needs above your own. Love is forgiving even when it’s the last thing on your mind.

On that note, I wish we would stop cheapening the word love. I wish we would quit throwing it around as if it meant nothing. I wish we wouldn’t let it replace words that do not measure up to its value. I wish we would recognize the weight of this word and find some other word to replace the vulgarity in our pop songs. I wish we’d clean up the clean versions.

I wish love’s image wasn’t so distorted.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

This entry was posted in Current Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

